speech therapy

So one of the lovely comments that i have gotten has been from a someone studying to become a speech therapist, who said that the hardest part was trying to understand how a stammerer feels as they didn’t stammer themselves. This was an interesting comment and it did ring true with me. I’ve been with 5 speech therapists in my life and it has been apparent that none of these have had speech issues and to me i think i found it hard to accept this. One of my big issues has always been the old “how would you know?” and “how could you possibly understand?”  and for to receive a comment like that has got me thinking maybe i was too closed mind. 

My dealings with speech therapy has always been the same, generally i am asked to read aloud either single words, phrases, sentences or paragraphs. I’ve never really understood why and what good it does, sessions were ok but i felt more like i was in therapy rather than doing speech therapy, as a result i was becoming more fluent in the sessions but as soon as i left back to square one. My latest therapist has worked on other things with me which i think has made a difference, we always start sessions with breathing exercises which at the time i didn’t get but now i realize the benefits, and although yes we did end up reading aloud i felt i was making progress, I’ve not had the opportunity to go back due to work commitments but i can honestly say she has made a difference.

What i would really like to know is :

What makes someone want to become a speech therapist?: Personally i know i could never deal with this myself, dealing with people’s hang ups and frustration must be hard, it really must take a lot of patience and understanding. I’d also like to know how difficult it is for speech therapists to deal with us stammerers

i would also love to know what different techniques are used in other countries, is stammering seen the same way we do?,  Are there more resources to deal with speech therapy?

2 thoughts on “speech therapy

  1. Well I can tell you what makes me want to become a speech therapist… or at least, I can try.

    I went to school, didn’t know what I wanted to do so went to university to do maths and german, changed onto maths, spanish and english language, then changed again onto english language and linguistics. That was the first time I really thought about how speech isn’t just an easy thing for everyone. I still didn’t know what I wanted to do. I got a job in a college, taking notes for dyslexic students and running homework help sessions. I travelled a bit. I got a different job, helping people with learning disabilities to live in their own homes. I enjoyed it but I knew I didn’t want to do it forever.

    So, I thought about what I wanted to do in my career. I wanted to work with people, doing something practical, that I would be emotionally invested in – something where I would actually care about the outcome of my work. I thought about becoming an adult literacy teacher or a nurse or a physiotherapist or a counsellor, and I still think any of those would have been okay, but I preferred the idea of speech therapy. Even though most speech therapy work is with children, which isn’t really for me (I love playing with children but can’t imagine me ever working with them).

    I think it’s because people really care a lot about their speech. The closest experience I have had to a speech problem is when I have a sore throat and I can’t talk for a day or two, and even that is too much for me. One of our teachers told us to try changing the way we speak, so we would know what it’s like. I tried speaking louder, which isn’t even difficult for me to do, and sticking to it was still a nightmare. So I’m not surprised that speech therapy isn’t some wonderful, straightworward process. BUT next time you see your speech therapist, you’re going to be telling her about answering the phone and then actually calling people and if she’s anything like me it will make her day.

    So basically I’m going into it for the moments. I don’t really mind that most of the time it is a frustrating uphill struggle for all concerned, frankly I never expected anything different. You have to keep going and if you get it right, it will be worth it for the person, and that’s what I, personally, want from the career.

    I don’t know if that really answers your question. I can’t speak for anyone else. I don’t know that much about what happens in other countries, either. You’ve got me interested now so if I do find out anything interesting I’ll let you know. Alex

    • Wow , it’s really cool that you doing it for the moments , I never really thought if it like that before , thinking now I’ve been too hard on therapists
      It’s really good having someone on the “other side ” of the table opinions it does actually help me understand. I do think its amazing what you therapists do and have to put up with
      Thanks Dave

Leave a Reply

